

ZTE CORPORATION 中興通訊股份有限公司

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 763)

CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT PROXY FORM FOR THE 2008 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

We refer to the "Notice of 2008 Annual General Meeting of ZTE Corporation" issued by ZTE Corporation (the "Company") issued on 1 April 2009 which contained, among other things, a "Resolution on the general mandate for 2009 to be granted to the Company" as Resolution No. 11 for consideration at the Annual General Meeting. Due to an inadvertent typo error, the said matter and the title of the resolution was misstated as "審議及批准授予董事會三零文八年度一般性授權的議案" ("to consider and approve the resolution on the general mandate for 2008 to be granted to the Board of Directors") in the Chinese version of the proxy form for the Annual General Meeting. The English version of the proxy form for the Annual General Meeting does not carry this typo error. The title of Resolution No. 11 of the Chinese version of the proxy form is hereby amended as "審議及批准授予董事會三零零九年度一般性授權的議案" ("to consider and approve the resolution on the general mandate for 2009 to be granted to the Board of Directors"). Shareholders intending to attend the meeting are asked to note this amendment when filling in the proxy form. The amended proxy form will be sent to the H shareholders of the Company as soon as practicable.

This announcement is published for clarification purposes and we apologize to the shareholders for any inconvenience caused.

By Order of the Board of Directors **Hou Weigui**Chairman

Shenzhen, PRC 29 April 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises three executive directors, Yin Yimin, Shi Lirong and He Shiyou; six non-executive directors, Hou Weigui, Wang Zongyin, Xie Weiliang, Zhang Junchao, Li Juping and Dong Lianbo; and five independent non-executive directors, Zhu Wuxiang, Chen Shaohua, Qiao Wenjun, Mi Zhengkun and Li Jin.