Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no presentation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 763)

CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT IN RESPECT OF THE ANNUAL REPORT FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2008

The Board would like to make clarification with respect to certain inadvertent clerical errors made in the Chinese version of the Annual Report.

Reference is made to the annual report of ZTE Corporation (the "Company") for the year ended 31 December 2008 (the "Annual Report") and its softcopy posted on the website of the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (the "Hong Kong Stock Exchange") at <u>www.hkexnews.hk</u> and on the Company's website at <u>www.zte.com.cn</u> (together with the website of the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, the "Websites") on 31 March 2008.

The board of directors (the "Board") of the Company would like to clarify that due to inadvertent clerical errors, minority interests stated in the consolidated income statement in respect of the years ended 31 December 2007 and 2008 on page 102 of the Chinese version of the Annual Report was incorrect while the English version remains correct. The minority interests in respect of the years ended 31 December 2007 and 2008 are RMB 199,293,000 and RMB251,736,000, respectively.

To avoid confusion, the consolidated income statement in the Chinese version of the Annual Report should be stated as follows:

單位:人民幣千元

	2008年	2007年
少數股東損益	251,736	199,293

By Order of the Board of Directors Hou Weigui Chairman

Shenzhen, PRC 22 April 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises three executive directors, Yin Yimin, Shi Lirong and He Shiyou; six non-executive directors, Hou Weigui, Wang Zongyin, Xie Weiliang, Zhang Junchao, Li Juping and Dong Lianbo; and five independent non-executive directors, Zhu Wuxiang, Chen Shaohua, Qiao Wenjun, Mi Zhengkun and Li Jin.